7th Grade Newsletter - April 9, 2013

7th Grade Newsletter 7th Grade Newsletter
7th Grade Newsletter 7th Grade ROCKS!!!
April 9

  • 7th Grade Contact Information
  • Language Arts - Ms. Halasz
  • Math - Mr. West
  • Social Studies -- Ms. Odermatt
  • Science - Mr. Boler
  • Family Focus
  • A.V.I.D.-- Mrs. Walker
  • Parent Portal

  • Language Arts - Ms. Halasz
    mch

    Testing Info... Testing Info.... Testing Info... Testing Info...

    On Tuesday and Wednesday of next week all Field students will begin MCA testing. First up is the MCA reading test. Students will test on both Tuesday and Wednesday mornings. After lunch regular classes will resume with the 7th grade having hours 1, 2, and 4 on Tuesday afternoon and hours 6 & 7 on Wednesday afternoon. There will be no BEST classes or Advisory on either testing day.

    We ask all families to speak to their children about the importance of doing your best on the test. We also recommend all students get enough rest next week and start their day with a healthy breakfast. Just a reminder, everyone may get FREE breakfast each day before school starts, testing or no testing.

    Think Spring!


    Math - Mr. West

    Hello everybody! This week we are reviewing the measures of center, mean, median and mode and then looking at how to manipulate these measures in a distribution. We will also spend time beginning to review for the MCA math test, which we will be taking the first week of May.


    Social Studies -- Ms. Odermatt

    Science - Mr. Boler

    We will be finishing up our unit on Human Body Systems this week with notes, activities, video clips, etc. on Disease, the Nervous system, and the Urinary system.

    Homework R4, Disease, will be given out on Monday and due back on Friday.

    The current plan is to have the Human Body Systems test on either April 18 or 19th. Students will be given a review guide on April 12th which they should use to help guide their review of notes, activities, past homework, and Quiz 1.

    To increase content understanding visit the 7th grade science web site at the URL listed below.


    Family Focus

    A.V.I.D.-- Mrs. Walker
    AVID decades of college dreams

    Parent Portal

    7th Grade Contact Information

    Mary Catherine Halasz (Language Arts, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    mahal001@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Nicole Odermatt (Social Studies, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Nicole.Odermatt@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Rick Feuling (BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Richard.Feuling@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Char Swanson (Spanish,French, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Char.Swanson@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Leon Boler (Science, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Leon.Boler@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Heather Walker (AVID)
    (612) 668-3640
    Heather.Walker@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Dan West (Math, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Dan.West@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Julie Peterson (Social Work)
    (612) 668-3640
    Julie.Peterson@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Wendy Wolff (Counselor)
    (612) 668-3640
    Wendy.Wolff@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Sean Casey(BEST, Media)
    (612) 668-3640
    Sean.Casey@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Margaret Miller (PTA Co-Chair) crmm@mninter.net

    Rich Flint (Site Council Community Representative) flint@richflint.com

    Erin Thompson(7th Grade Parent Site Council Representative) EThompson@metroconnections.com

    Korey Stoelzing(7th Grade Parent Site Council Representative) korey.stoelzing@gmail.com

    Site Council meetings are held the 1st Wednesday of the month from 4:00 - 5:30 and are open to anyone wishing to attend. If you have a topic to discuss you must be on the agenda prior to the meeting. Please contact your grade rep. to be added to the agenda.

    7th Grade Links

    CMP Math Info for Parents

    Loft Youth Writing Classes

    Arithmetic Four (Practice Operations with Integers)

    Order of Operations Four

    Walk the Plank --adding and subtracting integers

    Seventh Grade Science




    This email was sent to sethjleavitt@gmail.com by dan.west@mpls.k12.mn.us |  

    Field School | 4654 Fourth Avenue South | Field PTA | Minneapolis | MN | 55419