7th Grade Newsletter - May 13, 2013

7th Grade Newsletter 7th Grade Newsletter
7th Grade Newsletter 7th Grade ROCKS!!!
May 7th

MINNESOTA ZOO FIELD TRIP

The 7th grade is going to the Minnesota Zoo on Thursday May 16th. We are still in need of two parent volunteers - this will allow us to put a teacher and a parent with each group of 23 students. Please contact Mr. Boler if you are able to volunteer - we will leave Field at 8:30 and arrive back by 2:30. leon.boler@mpls.k12.mn.us

  • 7th Grade Contact Information
  • Language Arts - Ms. Halasz
  • Math - Mr. West
  • Social Studies -- Ms. Odermatt
  • Science - Mr. Boler
  • Family Focus
  • A.V.I.D.-- Mrs. Walker
  • Parent Portal

  • Language Arts - Ms. Halasz
    mch

    Last week we were able to sneak into a computer lab to do some research for this weeks round of speeches. (Labs are full with district testing.) The kids chose a topic they were interested in and came up with three questions about that topic to research. This week will be spent writing, practicing and giving the speeches. I imagine we will have to spill over into next week because of the field trip scheduled for Thursday.

    Enjoy the Spring!


    Math - Mr. West

    Hello everybody! This week as we continue Looking for Pythagoras we will be focusing on square roots. We will be especially interested in understanding how to work with square roots which are irrational.


    Social Studies -- Ms. Odermatt

    We've concluded our WWI unit and will learn this week how the Treaty of Versailles created conditions for Hitler's rise to power. We will spend the next 2 weeks focusing on WWII and the Holocaust with the final test scheduled for the last week of May. Here we go on the home stretch!!


    Science - Mr. Boler

    This week we will do an activity to visualize how much energy is transferred between trophic levels. On Wednesday there will be a group quiz. On Friday we are scheduled to be in the computer lab to work with a simulation that demonstrates how biotic and abiotic factors can limit the population growth of milkweed bugs.

    Populations and Ecosystems homework RA5, Limiting Factors, will be handed out on Monday and is due back by Friday.

    Thursday is zoo day - students will have an assignment to complete while visiting each of the zoo trails.

    To increase content understanding visit the 7th grade science web site at the URL listed below.


    Family Focus

    A.V.I.D.-- Mrs. Walker
    AVID decades of college dreams

    Parent Portal

    7th Grade Contact Information

    Mary Catherine Halasz (Language Arts, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    mahal001@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Nicole Odermatt (Social Studies, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Nicole.Odermatt@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Rick Feuling (BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Richard.Feuling@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Char Swanson (Spanish,French, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Char.Swanson@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Leon Boler (Science, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Leon.Boler@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Heather Walker (AVID)
    (612) 668-3640
    Heather.Walker@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Dan West (Math, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Dan.West@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Julie Peterson (Social Work)
    (612) 668-3640
    Julie.Peterson@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Wendy Wolff (Counselor)
    (612) 668-3640
    Wendy.Wolff@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Sean Casey(BEST, Media)
    (612) 668-3640
    Sean.Casey@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Margaret Miller (PTA Co-Chair) crmm@mninter.net

    Rich Flint (Site Council Community Representative) flint@richflint.com

    Erin Thompson(7th Grade Parent Site Council Representative) EThompson@metroconnections.com

    Korey Stoelzing(7th Grade Parent Site Council Representative) korey.stoelzing@gmail.com

    Site Council meetings are held the 1st Wednesday of the month from 4:00 - 5:30 and are open to anyone wishing to attend. If you have a topic to discuss you must be on the agenda prior to the meeting. Please contact your grade rep. to be added to the agenda.

    7th Grade Links

    CMP Math Info for Parents

    Loft Youth Writing Classes

    Arithmetic Four (Practice Operations with Integers)

    Order of Operations Four

    Walk the Plank --adding and subtracting integers

    Seventh Grade Science




    This email was sent to seth.leavitt@mpls.k12.mn.us by dan.west@mpls.k12.mn.us |  

    Field School | 4654 Fourth Avenue South | Field PTA | Minneapolis | MN | 55419