7th Grade Newsletter - May 29, 2013

7th Grade Newsletter 7th Grade Newsletter
7th Grade Newsletter 7th Grade ROCKS!!!
May 29th

Our last field trip of the year will be to the Water Park of America on the last day of school. Students have received their field trip slips, so please help them remember to return them to school (with both sides filled out) if they haven't already done so.

  • 7th Grade Contact Information
  • Language Arts - Ms. Halasz
  • Math - Mr. West
  • Social Studies -- Ms. Odermatt
  • Science - Mr. Boler
  • Family Focus
  • A.V.I.D.-- Mrs. Walker
  • Parent Portal

  • Language Arts - Ms. Halasz
    mch

    In my last e-mail for the year I would like to thank you all for sending me such great kids. I had a great year with the kids and think they are well prepared for what comes next. Have a safe and fun summer. Take time to read and enjoy the great outdoors. xo MCH


    Math - Mr. West

    Hello everybody! I have had a great year with your children and have really enjoyed being their math teacher. I am retiring at the end of the school year and this has been a delightful group of children to be with for my last year as a teacher. Thank you and farewell.


    Social Studies -- Ms. Odermatt

    We've concluded our WWI unit and will learn this week how the Treaty of Versailles created conditions for Hitler's rise to power. We will spend the next 2 weeks focusing on WWII and the Holocaust with the final test scheduled for the last week of May. Here we go on the home stretch!!


    Science - Mr. Boler

    Students will receive their Populations and Ecosystems test back on Wednesday. Completed Test make-up forms must be turned back in (with the test) no later than Monday June 3rd.

    On Tuesday and Wednesday we will be learning more about organism adaptations by viewing "Voyage to the Galapagos Islands". Students will also do one more observation of their Milkweed Bug Habitats.

    On Thursday and Friday, students will construct their rockets which will be launched next Monday June 3rd. If you are available, we could use more volunteer eyes at McRae park. There will be a morning group (10am to 11:45) and an afternoon group (1 to 2:20pm). If you can help out at either or both sessions please email me at: leon.boler@mpls.k12.mn.us

    To increase content understanding visit the 7th grade science web site at the URL listed below.


    Family Focus

    A.V.I.D.-- Mrs. Walker
    AVID decades of college dreams

    Parent Portal

    7th Grade Contact Information

    Mary Catherine Halasz (Language Arts, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    mahal001@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Nicole Odermatt (Social Studies, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Nicole.Odermatt@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Rick Feuling (BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Richard.Feuling@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Char Swanson (Spanish,French, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Char.Swanson@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Leon Boler (Science, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Leon.Boler@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Heather Walker (AVID)
    (612) 668-3640
    Heather.Walker@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Dan West (Math, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Dan.West@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Julie Peterson (Social Work)
    (612) 668-3640
    Julie.Peterson@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Wendy Wolff (Counselor)
    (612) 668-3640
    Wendy.Wolff@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Sean Casey(BEST, Media)
    (612) 668-3640
    Sean.Casey@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Margaret Miller (PTA Co-Chair) crmm@mninter.net

    Rich Flint (Site Council Community Representative) flint@richflint.com

    Erin Thompson(7th Grade Parent Site Council Representative) EThompson@metroconnections.com

    Korey Stoelzing(7th Grade Parent Site Council Representative) korey.stoelzing@gmail.com

    Site Council meetings are held the 1st Wednesday of the month from 4:00 - 5:30 and are open to anyone wishing to attend. If you have a topic to discuss you must be on the agenda prior to the meeting. Please contact your grade rep. to be added to the agenda.

    7th Grade Links

    CMP Math Info for Parents

    Loft Youth Writing Classes

    Arithmetic Four (Practice Operations with Integers)

    Order of Operations Four

    Walk the Plank --adding and subtracting integers

    Seventh Grade Science




    This email was sent to sethjleavitt@gmail.com by dan.west@mpls.k12.mn.us |  

    Field School | 4654 Fourth Avenue South | Field PTA | Minneapolis | MN | 55419