7th Grade Newsletter - November 27, 2012

7th Grade Newsletter 7th Grade Newsletter
7th Grade Newsletter 7th Grade ROCKS!!!
November 19

  • 7th Grade Contact Information
  • Language Arts - Ms. Halasz
  • Math - Mr. West
  • Social Studies -- Ms. Odermatt
  • Science - Mr. Boler
  • Family Focus
  • A.V.I.D.-- Mrs. Walker
  • Parent Portal

  • Language Arts - Ms. Halasz
    mch

    We are winding down our unit on dystopian literature. We have one story left and then we are going to watch the movie The Truman Show. We will see if our information regarding characters of dystopian stories holds true with movies. So far the kids have done a lot of good work and most will be happy to get back to some, "normal" stories. :)


    Math - Mr. West

    Hello everybody! This week we continue our study of linear relationships in Moving Straight Ahead. Our focus throughout the unit is to make connections between tables, graphs, equations and real world situations involving linear relationships.

    On Friday we will take a short district mandated assessment on computer which mainly tests the concepts we covered in the first two units this year.


    Social Studies -- Ms. Odermatt

    This week I will introduce the concept of the Industrial Revolution. We will read about how certain new inventions changed life for people in the early 1800s. Important ideas include how farm economy changes to market economy and how children are used in factories and mills. For homework this week, students are to write a letter as if they were a young kid working in a mill after leaving the family farm. Letter is due this Friday.


    Science - Mr. Boler

    This week we are starting our second uint: Properties of Matter. Students will do 8 short inquires as a pretest to see they know at the start. Starting on Wednesday we will do three inquiries to introduce students to the concept of density.

    Homework, RA1, What is Matter, will be given out on Monday, due back by Friday. Homework turned in on Tuesday will receive a 4% bonus.

    To increase content understanding visit the 7th grade science web site at the URL listed below. In addition to links to FOSS and Discovery Education, weekly powerpoint reviews are uploaded to this website.


    Family Focus

    A.V.I.D.-- Mrs. Walker
    AVID decades of college dreams

    Parent Portal

    7th Grade Contact Information

    Mary Catherine Halasz (Language Arts, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    mahal001@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Nicole Odermatt (Social Studies, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Nicole.Odermatt@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Rick Feuling (BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Richard.Feuling@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Char Swanson (Spanish,French, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Char.Swanson@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Leon Boler (Science, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Leon.Boler@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Heather Walker (AVID)
    (612) 668-3640
    Heather.Walker@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Dan West (Math, BEST, Advisory)
    (612) 668-3640
    Dan.West@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Julie Peterson (Social Work)
    (612) 668-3640
    Julie.Peterson@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Wendy Wolff (Councelor)
    (612) 668-3640
    Wendy.Wolff@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Sean Casey(BEST, Media)
    (612) 668-3640
    Sean.Casey@mpls.k12.mn.us

    Margaret Miller (PTA Co-Chair) crmm@mninter.net

    Rich Flint (Site Council Community Representative) flint@richflint.com

    Erin Thompson(7th Grade Parent Site Council Representative) EThompson@metroconnections.com

    Korey Stoelzing(7th Grade Parent Site Council Representative) korey.stoelzing@gmail.com

    Site Council meetings are held the 1st Wednesday of the month from 4:00 - 5:30 and are open to anyone wishing to attend. If you have a topic to discuss you must be on the agenda prior to the meeting. Please contact your grade rep. to be added to the agenda.

    7th Grade Links

    CMP Math Info for Parents

    Loft Youth Writing Classes

    Arithmetic Four (Practice Operations with Integers)

    Order of Operations Four

    Walk the Plank --adding and subtracting integers

    Seventh Grade Science




    This email was sent to seth.leavitt@mpls.k12.mn.us by dan.west@mpls.k12.mn.us |  

    Field School | 4654 Fourth Avenue South | Field PTA | Minneapolis | MN | 55419